Archives for the day of: October 14, 2011
Photo of Rabindranath Tagore, taken in 1905 or...

Image via Wikipedia

The word “Humble” is defined by Websters Online Dictionary as “not proud or arrogant; modest…” http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/humble

In this day and age where bravado is accepted and praised, you rarely run into someone who is truly humble. More often, we meet people who want to toot their own horns about their beauty, status, wealth, power, etc.

Do not misunderstand me: I have no problem with a person acknowledging their success or good fortune; I believe that those who are recognized for their hard work and perseverance, deserve it. However, when the person’s accolades outshine the attributes of their character, that is when it can become problematic.

In society, we are used to people praising their own abilities, their own self-worth, their own appearance, etc. so it is refreshing to meet someone who does the complete opposite.

As I was talking to a friend today, he  told me how his daily morning routine involves reading my blog. (That definitely made my day!) I told him how I just started this whole blogging thing but I have enjoyed it. He then mentioned how his Flickr account is about to reach its 1,000,000 view.

Wow. 1,000,000 views!

 I inquired about what kind of photos he has that would generate 1,000,000 views.  He then began to tell me that  he does architectural photography.

I said, “can I see your pictures?”

He hesitated a little and replied, “I’m quite shy but I can show you some of them if you like. I also have a business card, but don’t show anyone because I’m quite shy.”

After I looked at his website, I noticed how many accolades he did, in fact, have as a result of his work.

One word: Amazing

Through my research, I found out that his work has been included in several magazines, textbooks, on-line articles, etc. In fact, in our University’s library, we have textbooks that have his photographs on the cover. He has also traveled extensively due to his photography.

Impressive?

I’d say so.

I would have never known this interesting fact about him because he never tooted his own horn. Instead, he sought to compliment me on my blog that has an insignificant amount of views in comparison to his.

His humility reminded me  of a great lesson: “we come nearest to the great when we are great in humility”- Rabindranath Tagore

May we all learn a lesson in humility and compliment others. It doesn’t cost you anything and is one of the best gifts you can give.

After he reads this post, I will see if I can persuade him to let me show you some of his pictures and offer a link to his website so you can see what I am talking about. 🙂

Lately, I’ve noticed that many of my classmates, friends, etc. are either engaged or getting married. While I am happy for their union, every once in a while, I wonder (like many women) when is my Mr. Right going to come along? When will I be the bride in lieu of the bridesmaid?

I’m told the more successful a woman becomes, the more difficult it may be to find a suitable partner. By “suitable,” I assume that means someone who is on your level (whatever that means). But, I disagree. Too often mature and successful women hide behind the guise of “There are no good men, All men are dogs, All the good men are taken, etc.” In many cases, those excuses may not be valid. Maybe you are a woman with a jacked-up attitude or unrealistic expectations or insecurites that have build a wall up so high, nobody could climb it.

However, I do believe that there are a plethora of factors that could be considered when discussing relationships and why so many successful women are single.

I don’t know about you, but I get tired of being asked that same question, “Why are you single?” First of all, that is an unfair question. For many of us, if we knew why were single, then maybe we would not be single any longer. lol Second of all, many ask the question as if there is some negative stigma associated with being single. It is not a disease or an inconvenience. In fact, at this time, it is my preference.

My name is Morgan and I am single. Why? It is not because I do not like men. It is not because I am too busy to be in a relationship? It is a conscientious decision to focus on my aspirations and goals before getting caught up in any relationship prematurely. And more importantly, it’s because I want to strengthen another relationship first: The one between me and Christ.

As my walk with Christ continues to strengthen, I realize just how important it is to learn to love God before loving any other man. God will show me the true definition of love spoken about in First Corinthians Chapter 13. Then and only then, will I be prepared to love. That is not saying that I am not open to dating or meeting new people, it’s only stating that any relationship I have with a male is secondary to my relationship with God. And if any carnal relationship jeopardizes my spiritual relationship, then changes have to occur to realign me to the will of God.

I am an avid lover of poetry and last year, I stumbled across this website that perfectly explained my answer to the question, “Why are you single?” Please take the time to watch the video below. What is your answer to that very same question? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

If you like this post, feel free to retweet it or add it on fb by clicking the links below.
Add me on twitter! https://twitter.com/YouWantMoSmalls

To share a link from my page with your twitter followers, click the link here! https://twitter.com/share
Also, to stay in touch with my latest news, feel free to follow my blog. There should be a little “follow” sign on my blog.