Lately, I’ve noticed that many of my classmates, friends, etc. are either engaged or getting married. While I am happy for their union, every once in a while, I wonder (like many women) when is my Mr. Right going to come along? When will I be the bride in lieu of the bridesmaid?

I’m told the more successful a woman becomes, the more difficult it may be to find a suitable partner. By “suitable,” I assume that means someone who is on your level (whatever that means). But, I disagree. Too often mature and successful women hide behind the guise of “There are no good men, All men are dogs, All the good men are taken, etc.” In many cases, those excuses may not be valid. Maybe you are a woman with a jacked-up attitude or unrealistic expectations or insecurites that have build a wall up so high, nobody could climb it.

However, I do believe that there are a plethora of factors that could be considered when discussing relationships and why so many successful women are single.

I don’t know about you, but I get tired of being asked that same question, “Why are you single?” First of all, that is an unfair question. For many of us, if we knew why were single, then maybe we would not be single any longer. lol Second of all, many ask the question as if there is some negative stigma associated with being single. It is not a disease or an inconvenience. In fact, at this time, it is my preference.

My name is Morgan and I am single. Why? It is not because I do not like men. It is not because I am too busy to be in a relationship? It is a conscientious decision to focus on my aspirations and goals before getting caught up in any relationship prematurely. And more importantly, it’s because I want to strengthen another relationship first: The one between me and Christ.

As my walk with Christ continues to strengthen, I realize just how important it is to learn to love God before loving any other man. God will show me the true definition of love spoken about in First Corinthians Chapter 13. Then and only then, will I be prepared to love. That is not saying that I am not open to dating or meeting new people, it’s only stating that any relationship I have with a male is secondary to my relationship with God. And if any carnal relationship jeopardizes my spiritual relationship, then changes have to occur to realign me to the will of God.

I am an avid lover of poetry and last year, I stumbled across this website that perfectly explained my answer to the question, “Why are you single?” Please take the time to watch the video below. What is your answer to that very same question? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

If you like this post, feel free to retweet it or add it on fb by clicking the links below.
Add me on twitter! https://twitter.com/YouWantMoSmalls

To share a link from my page with your twitter followers, click the link here! https://twitter.com/share
Also, to stay in touch with my latest news, feel free to follow my blog. There should be a little “follow” sign on my blog.

